The Vishrant Buddhist Society is a non for profit charity organisation and is dedicated to serving as a centre for spiritual seekers to investigate their true nature and promote the development of higher consciousness for the benefit of all living forms. The organisation operates to support spiritual seekers in achieving happiness and enlightenment through providing formal Satsang, meditation retreats and offering educational services.

The aim is to support the individual’s quest to remove the obstacles that limit access to perceiving inherent true nature through many methodologies, and also to develop spiritual leadership capacity.

The society provides spiritual guidance to all seekers under the inspiration of Prem Vishrant, an awakened teacher. This centre is dedicated to Truth and is a Spiritual Mystery School where leadership capabilities are developed through challenging and investigating all aspects of consciousness. Active investigation provides the opportunity to learn through direct experience and is what enables spiritual leadership capabilities to develop.

Many modern day spiritual teachers such as Adyashanti and Eckhart Tolle draw from Buddhism in their own teachings of mindfulness, examining one’s belief systems and removing the obstacles in the way of freedom. Originating in Japan, Zen Buddhism is one of the clearest forms of Buddhism because of its pragmatic, simple approach to spirituality and everyday life. The meditative practice offered by Zen Buddhism is used extensively in the trainings of The Vishrant Buddhist Society right here in Western Australia.

Prem Vishrant promotes the awareness of the Dharma (or teachings) of Buddhism as a guide for the Seeker that wishes to attain higher consciousness. A summary of the Dharma can be found below.

The Buddhist Three Jewels of Consciousness – Buddha, Dharma and Sangha

  1. The Buddha is The Awakened One. It is what we aspire to be: awakened, enlightened to our true nature.
  1. The Dharma is the complete body of teachings that Buddha gave. It is the essential philosophy that all may attain peace and joy because fundamentally that is our true nature.
  2. The Sangha is the community persons’ that practice the Dharma. The Buddha taught that we should surround ourselves with those of similar interests, teachers and lay practitioners to inspire us in the beneficial activities of the Dharma.


The Buddhist Four Noble Truths

“The Four Noble Truths” which Buddha taught.The First Noble Truth: Suffering exists.

The Second Noble Truth: The cause of suffering is our ignorance (not knowing the true nature of our mind), attachment and desire.

The Third Noble Truth: The end or cessation of suffering. This is what is termed Nirvana, which is liberation or an end to misery. Buddha taught that we don’t have to suffer in our lives.

The Fourth Noble Truth: The path to freedom, or liberation. This is taught as The Eight Fold Path which is the prescription for enlightenment.


The Buddhist – Eight Fold Path

The Noble Eightfold Path describes the way to the end of suffering, as it was laid out by Siddhartha Gautama. It is a practical guideline to ethical and mental development with the goal of freeing the individual from attachments and delusions; and it finally leads to understanding the truth. Together with the Four Noble Truths it constitutes the foundation of Buddhism. Great emphasis is put on the practical aspect, because it is only through practice that one can attain a higher level of existence. The eight aspects of the path are not to be understood as a sequence of single steps, instead they are highly interdependent principles that have to be seen in relationship with each other.
1. Right View
2. Right Thought
3. Right Speech
4. Right Action
5. Right Livelihood
6. Right Effort
7. Right Mindfulness
8. Right Concentration

The Path is divided into three main sections: wisdom, ethical conduct and mental discipline.

1. 2. Wisdom: Right View and Right Thought are the wisdom path. Right View is a clear understanding of the four noble truths. Right Thought refers to how we think about ourselves, other people and the world as our thoughts create our reality.

  • Right View – realising the Four Noble Truths
  • Right Thought – is a commitment to ethical and mental self-improvement

3. 4. 5. Ethical Conduct: Right Speech, Right Action and Right Livelihood are the ethical conduct path. This calls us to take care in our speech, our actions, and our daily lives to do no harm to others and to cultivate wholesomeness in ourselves.

  • Right Speech – one speaks in a constructive, not exaggerated, truthful way
  • Right Action – wholesome action, avoiding action that would do harm
  • Right Livelihood – one’s job does not harm in any way oneself or others; directly or indirectly (weapon maker, drug dealer, etc.)

6. 7. 8. Mental Discipline: Through Right Effort, Right Mindfulness, and Right Concentration we develop the mental discipline to cut through delusion. Buddhism encourages seekers to meditate to achieve clarity and focus of mind.

  • Right Effort – one makes an effort to improve
  • Right Mindfulness – mental ability to see things for what they are with clear consciousness
  • Right Concentration – state where one reaches enlightenment and the ego has disappeared


The Sixteen Vishrant Buddhist Society Precepts

The Three Treasures

I take refuge in the Buddha

I take refuge in the Dharma

I take refuge in the Sangha


The Three Pure Precepts

Not Creating Evil

Practicing Good – being loving, being generous, being kind

Actualizing Good For Others


The Ten Living Precepts

Affirm life;

– Not to be involved in killing.

Be giving;

– Not to be involved in stealing.

Honor the body;

– Not to misuse sexuality.

Manifest truth;

– Not to be involved in lying.

Proceed clearly;

– Not to cloud the mind with drugs or alcohol.

See the perfection;

– Not to speak of others errors and faults with the intention of hurting them or their reputation.

Realize self and other as one;

– Not to elevate the self above others.

Give generously;

– Not to be withholding, to become a giver.

Actualize harmony;

– Not to support anger in yourself or others.

Experience the intimacy of things;

– Not to betray the Three Treasures.